Lessons on recieving blessings

In this experiment, you’re going to devote 48 hours to looking for evidence of this all-knowing, all-perfect FP. Call it God, if that feels more comfortable. Luckily, the FP exists every single place you could ever think to look. To up the stakes, you’re going to ask the FP for a blessing or what I call an unexpected gift. You’re going to give it 48 hours to send you a gift you wouldn’t normally receive— a surprise check in the mail, a card from an old friend, something that is truly unexpected. You don’t get to specify the blessing (that comes later, in Experiment #4), but you do need to give a clearly defined request and a concrete deadline. And as always, it helps to ask for help in recognizing your gift.

Quantum physics defines the field as “invisible moving forces that influence the physical realm.” In this book, you’ll learn to use this field of potentiality (I like to call it the FP) to your advantage.

Grout, Pam (2013-01-28). E-Squared: Nine Do-It-Yourself Energy Experiments That Prove Your Thoughts Create Your Reality (Kindle Locations 792-798). Hay House Insights. Kindle Edition.

This book has been a lot of fun and I highly recommend it. It is a group of exercises to try and experiment with to help learn and understand all the principals about attraction. I get so turned off on all the crap I see about manifesting things in order to get….and fill in the blank. Many are about getting rich fast or losing weight and getting a lover. And I admit I had some  interest in this so many years ago when The Secret first came out about the Law of Attraction. It all seemed so easy. And like so many others, I was totally disappointed when I did not get a rich gorgeous partner who wanted to take care of me while I jetted off to the Rivera to relax. It does not work because the ground work has to be done first. But at the time, I was alone, scared and looking for solutions.

So again, I cannot tell you why I chose this book. I get led to these authors and with a Kindle it is like being in a candy shop for me. I see or read something somewhere else, and I Google them and see they have a book and I go get it. Do not remember how she came to my path. And the funny thing is she has a WordPress blog: www.pamgrout.com. I am also finding now that many authors reference a lot of similar authors and I have read many of them. It is like a collective that circles around.

I decided to try her experiments without any expectations. There is nothing to lose here. I wanted to wait on my outcome for the first one, but I decided to share what happened. It was kind of one of those loud soft moments.  Here is the experiment:

The Theory: There is an invisible energy force or field of infinite possibilities. And it’s yours for the asking. The Question: Does the FP exist? The Hypothesis: If there’s a 24/ 7 energy force equally available to everyone, I can access it at any time simply by paying attention. Furthermore, if I ask the force for a blessing, giving it a specific time frame and clear instructions, it’ll send me a gift and say, “My pleasure.”

Grout, Pam (2013-01-28). E-Squared: Nine Do-It-Yourself Energy Experiments That Prove Your Thoughts Create Your Reality

So I get up the next morning after I read this and  I decided I would start the stop watch for my 48 hours. It was hard to get the thought planted in my head and with full conviction that a blessing was coming my way. This was the morning back after a three day weekend. I noticed when I was getting ready for work that I had that slight neat feeling (I could not think of a better word than neat) of the anticipation of something coming my way. It was akin to it being your birthday morning. I was taking my time as I did not have an early morning meeting. About an hour before I was due at work, my coordinator called and said she overslept and was running late. I was fine with it until she reminded me that there was an early class that needed to be set up and she was not going to make it there in time.

I had an appointment to drop my car off at the shop as the inspection was due in August. Oops, I did not check it and so it was illegal in September. I had to get it in. My hair was a mess and I did not have time for breakfast. I rushed to get my stuff ready and I heard the sirens in town go off signaling that there was an issue somewhere close by. There is only one road that leads to the car shop and sure enough, there was a huge accident that had it backed up. Normal old Jane would be at this point frantic and hyperventilating. I sent an email to the instructor before leaving saying I was coming but might be late. I tried calling the office while I was stuck in traffic and no one was in yet. I just surrendered and let things just happen. I was calm. They must have moved something as the traffic started to flow. Going past the accident was gruesome and I think it might have been a DOA. A huge dump truck and smashed into a car and there was no front of the car left. That made me be aware of what hurrying can do. I get to the car shop and he informs me that the appointment was for tomorrow. Instead of getting all tweaked, I just laughed. He said it was no problem to take the car and they did. My husband followed me and took me to work. I got there with five minutes to spare. And to boot, the instructor had forgotten and if I had not sent the email, she would not have shown at all.

The rest of the day was peasant and uneventful. Actually for me it was boring as I like a lot of interaction. But I was calm and peaceful and got a few things accomplished. Inside my head I kept thinking about my experiment and how something really wonderful was coming my way. I just knew it and felt the anticipation. There were a couple of things that made the day special like helping a friend with a major crisis. Not that her crisis was a good thing, but that she reached out to me to help her. All I did was listen, but that was a good thing.

On the drive home, it hit me. I had spent the whole day anticipating a major blessing and it had made me feel really great even though the day was not anything spectacular. I did not solve any major world issues, won any great award, found a million dollars or lost 100 pounds. It was just a really good day. Then I thought, “OMG!” Was the blessing the solution to my time crunch this morning? Was that it? I have to tell you in all honesty I was crestfallen. Was that all there was? I got to work on time. It took the wind right out of my sails. “Whoopee” I thought sarcastically.

The anticipation went flat and by the next morning, I had given up on the experiment. In my mind, I lied to myself and said I had not, but in my soul I did. I no longer truly believed with everything that I was going to get any major blessing. When I thought about it before, there was no doubt. Now there was this slight apprehension that this was all a ruse. The day progressed again without any major hitch, but I was tired and flat. I noticed I was particularly joyless. And I am not talking about the uberparty joyous. Just that the day before there was this quiet vibe of what I like to call Little Girl Glee. That was gone. I got through the uneventful day and after dinner I went out to my chair to meditate and think. It had clouded up and was softly spitting little rain drops, but I covered myself with a blanket and started to do a Chakra meditation. I woke up a half hour later wet from the rain and with a stiff neck. I had conked out by the time I reached the solar plexus chakra. I grumbled off to bed.

I have not been sleeping great. I have been having weird dreams. I think there is a lot going on and my mind is trying to sort out things. I did figure something out. The blessing did happen. And yes, the getting to work was one and helping a friend was another. But the major blessing was the gift of the joyous feeling.  That was what I was to pay attention to and receive. Being aware. It helped me get through the stress of getting to work. Not only did it keep me calm, I was actually somewhere deep inside still happy. Not about external things, but just in my soul. That was the blessing: That very slight vibration that I call Little Girl Glee. To the outside, there is no real change. I am not grinning or laughing inappropriately. I just knew that what was being tossed at me was not anything I would not get through. I actually was able to laugh at the situation with the appointment not even being the right day. Before, I would have crapped all over my husband who set up the appointment. I would have had a blood pressure headache from being in such a panic about the class not being set up and my coordinator sleeping in. I laughed all day at my hair which looked like I put my finger in a socket. I was able to teach my Customer Service class and do it with real conviction because I felt this “happy” inside. It is hard to teach compassion when you are angry.

This is the blessing: Joy and Calmness. Last night the calm was still there. The LGG (Little Girl Glee) had toned down. I was tired as I had a half hour total break yesterday between meetings. But, I like meetings so it was fine. I decided that I would try this experiment over and over. There is no limit to how many blessings we can have. For me, it is a teaching tool to get my body and soul more used to the feeling, and pardon the pun, embody it. Someday it will be engrained and part of my natural makeup. But for now, it is a lesson I will continue to work on.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Lessons on recieving blessings

  1. Loved this! There is a saying I have posted on my blog before…”Live every day as if something wonderful is about to happen”…which embodies your message here. If we strive to do this as often as we can, it retrains the mind to focus on the positive energy around and within us…and helps us to stay out of discouragement and pain. While maintaining this every day all day may not be possible, we CAN remind ourselves when we feel like we are slipping into a negative mode…and remembering that something wonderful is abut to happen changes the energy almost immediately. Great experiment Lovely Lady!

Really would like your input.

