Messages

I am still stunned when something happens and is put in place for me to see and get something from. Today’s stunner is from an email. I have been getting an email a day  since the beginning of February for a Book called The Course of Miracles. This was the second time I attempted this book but again was turned off by the highly prophesizing tone and heavy duty Christian theories.  I am not saying they are wrong, but was not something I was ready to accept completely. But every day I got an email from Chris Cade who gave you an exercise to do to help assimilate the daily reading. I tried some and again could not embrace it totally. I copied the emails and stored them. I just receive number 100. I had gotten to the point where I did not even read them but this one I did. I was meant to as it was a sign. I am pulling pieces from the email. Some of my friends who read this blog will flip out with the religious theme, which has never been something I do, but I do not really need to worry about that either. It is a message only.

It began: “God’s Will for me is perfect happiness.”  Perfect happiness has not ever been something I thought was obtainable. But why not? Why would I be excluded from being happy? I deserve to be happy along with everyone else. There is no contract written anywhere that says I am destined to be miserable and guilty all my life. This is not my destiny. “You still believe it asks for suffering as penance for your “sins.” This is not so.”  Phew, really? I do not have to feel bad about not feeling bad? What a relief. The piece goes into a long explanation about sin and suffering and why would anyone think or desire to obtain salvation if it meant that you had to perpetually suffer? I got that and I think that was the turn off for me in my life about religion. The fire and brimstone burn in hell salvation crap. It never fit well. It also still does not fit well with me the “I am perfect ‘Christian’ and you’re not” crap either. I was raised in a Christian practice and if you knew my past you would see the hypocrisy. But this is not a discussion on those issues and if you read on, you will see that whatever you call yourself, it does not matter. Also, I embrace the man given names for the Creator/God/Devine is also not important, but for discussion we need names.

This is where he got me: “Your joy must be complete to let His plan be understood by those to whom He sends you. They will see their function in your shining face, and hear God calling to them in your happy laugh.” Of course. It all makes a whole lot of sense to me now. Why would anyone seriously go through months of agonizing pain and suffering? To release it. He does not want us to spend any unnecessary time in our lives suffering for mistakes of our own doing and the mistakes of others inflicted on us. To my friends who at this point are freaking out, I am not going to turn out to be a Bible toting aberration. I am not turning my back on my own practices and I think that is the point. I am still who I am, just with a whole lot less baggage. But I am a teacher and how can I teach if I do not understand the lesson?

This next piece is a bit hedonistic at first glance. “We will not let ourselves be sad today. For if we do, we fail to take the part that is essential to God’s plan, as well as to our vision. Sadness is the sign that you would play another part, instead of what has been assigned to you by God. Thus do you fail to show the world how great the happiness He wills for you. And so you do not recognize that it is yours” I think this is the place where many get on the Jesus bus and start to preach. Whoa, not for me. But when you read it several times though and take the fear out, it speaks of a softer approach to life. It says that if you embrace the peace in your heart, and live your life as it was destined to be, which is of small victories and joy, you cannot but help to influence others to want it too.

There was a lot more to the email and I have attached the link. The words felt like a hug in my heart. It was a sign, I am sure of that. Why in a 100 emails from the same person would this one pop out? I never completed the book. I did not go through the old emails and I am not sure if I will. But these words will stick with me forever.

The Course of Miracles

 

2 thoughts on “Messages

  1. When the message is ready and meant to be heard, it matters not in what form it comes. And, our Higher Self will always direct us to it…and we will glean what is meant for us. Wonderful that you got to “hear” what you needed today. Blessings!

Really would like your input.

