Recidivism

Like a prisoner who dreams that he is free, starts to suspect that it is merely a dream, and wants to go on dreaming rather than waking up, so I am content to slide back into my old opinions; I fear being shaken out of them because I am afraid that my peaceful sleep may be followed by hard labour when I wake, and that I shall have to struggle not in the light but in the imprisoning darkness of the problems I have raised.
-René Descartes

Recidivism is a nasty effect that occurs when one repeats an undesirable behavior or condition. Criminals commit new crimes in an effort to be returned to the confines of jail, a place where is it comfortable and known. Most citizens think of jail as being confined. But any animal will tell you there is comfort in a den or hole. There is security even in the cave, ask Plato. There is control and with control, there is less fear. And less fear is where we all want to be. Even me.
I have returned to my safety, pulled the blinds down and turned off the lights. The exposure was too great. I felt safe and free for about fifteen minutes. I enjoyed the wonder and love I felt. I set forth in a brand new world with innocence and trust. But when someone is released without the tools of the current world they are in, it is a lesson in failure. It is inevitable they will return to confines of the world they knew. And like the small child who was incarcerated at five, I have returned to the protection of the closet. And for the present moment, it safe.

Really would like your input.

